The Pubic Hair Plant






Well, I'm writing this in my lunch break because, horror of horrors, I actually have work today. Getting to grips with Active Server Pages has largely been hampered by the lack of any text editor that will do syntactic colouring and word wrap at the same time. I've nothing against lines of ASP code 250+ characters long, I'd just prefer to be able to read them without using a horizontal scroll bar. Arachnophilia, my text/html editor of choice, will either do word wrap or syntactic colouring. Why the fuck it won't do both is beyond me.

So, onto more interesting subjects, because I know you're gonna be wanting an explanation of the entry title.

Saturday night we went to see Finding Nemo. As we have come to expect from Pixar it was an excellent film, with the right mix of adult humour and kiddie humour, fantastic animation (if it weren't for the deliberate charicturing of the fish and human characters in places it was very difficult to tell it was CGI rather than real) and of course a nice warm and fuzzy feel-good story. Sadly, unlike EVERY OTHER Pixar movie, there were no outtakes at the end. Bah.

On Sunday, my parents and my Nan visited. Five people is apparently the threshold (for us and our kitchen at least) where catering becomes a matter to be treated like a military operation. And everyone liked my pickled onions. I have yet to be brave enough to try one. Childhood foible - even though it's years since I've tried one, I'm convinced I don't like pickled onions.

After the wonderful ploughman's lunch (including picked onions, obviously), all of us except my Dad headed out to a couple of garden centres. Here, by way of a "six plants for �10" offer, between us we acquired 12 plants, including the one I dubbed a "Pubic Hair Plant" (see picture below to see why), along with a few other plants not included in the offer. It's a good job my Dad wasn't there because I think my Mum would've had a hard time convincing him that they should buy the plants. Take my Mum, or my Nan, or Alison, and put them in a garden centre and you know it's going to end up expensive. All three, and you just don't want to see the bill.

Green Thatch, LOL!

And last night I redid a CD mix for Alison that I first did a couple of years ago, removing one of the tracks that she didn't particularly like from the original version, then adding a load more so the CD was chock-full, instead of being a CD that was made to be copied onto two sides of a 60 minute tape. Had lots of fun with the artwork for that one. Mixmania peeps who have seen my other CD case efforts "ain't seen nothing" compared to this one.

Speaking of Mixmania, I wish the US and UK postal services would get a fucking move on and get Daisy's mixes to me. I need fresh mixes...







Previous EntryRandom EntryNext Entry