Reminiscent






Last night spiralled deep into the past after the one and only Griz passed me this link. A chain-reaction occurred as a result of a subsequent conversation with Ex-Pat Andy, leading to reminscences not only of BigTrak, but also of Starbird! Neither toy was one I was lucky enough to own myself but I do remember having a Starbird Avenger and Starbird Intruder on long term loan from a mate at some point. The second link also contained links to other toys I remembered, particularly Rom The Space Knight and, of course, Zoids!

I still resent the fact that I was just that little bit too old for Transformers. Still, I tended to just nick my brothers and play with them.

This also went hand in hand with a certain amount of musical reminiscing as I worked on a list of potential tracks for the Hallowe'en Mix CD I'm gonna be compiling. I won't say too much as it's possible the eventual recipient will be reading this, but let's just say I managed to root out some old classics. In a manner of speaking. And I've already done my "All In One" mix, I'm just slaving over the artwork now.

I've done two new banners. Neither are in circulation yet as I'm low on banner views so only wanna run something if I think it's really cool. Plus I submitted a banner like 3 days ago and still haven't heard back that it's running.

Firstly there was this one...
Dietary Recommendations
Then this one...
Less Said, The Better
Are either of them worth running? I'm not sure.

I've just read Ella Minnow Pea by Mark Dunn. It's a fantastically clever book. Short, difficult to get used to in places, but very very clever. Anne will undoubtedly be bullied by Alison into reading it at some point, as I was, though now is not necessarily a good time for that.

Oh, and I'm sick of being On The Bench(TM). I'm entirely pissed off that all the good jobs are in the Defence Sector, and I'm starting to get wary of people's reactions to the fact that I will not do Defence work. Yesterday M said to me "Well, I guess it depends what's more important to you, your morals or paying the mortgage," which really fucked me off. I left the office shortly after that conversation with her in a foul mood, and didn't bother going in today - partly because of how much she'd wound me up, but mostly because I couldn't be arsed to do a 50 mile round trip commute purely for the sake of appearances.

I'll be going in tomorrow though. And Friday. It's comics week, after all.







Previous EntryRandom EntryNext Entry