Holiday Quotes






Not doing the usual thing for this entry. Since I've been on holiday for a week, and it would take me ages to write it all up, I've chosen to just pick a 'quote of the day' for each day, and explain it, and that's all I'm saying about my holiday.

13.09.2002

"...where you actually get to see J-Lo in a Wedding Dress!"

During the drive down we had the radio on, and got to hear the early morning show on Radio 1. This was a bit of a novelty, as you wouldn't get up early on a Saturday unless you had to drive all the way to Penzance and possibly buy a tenor saxophone on the way. So we got to hear KC's show. She was doing a competition and one of the prizes was Maid In Manhattan on DVD. The quote was KC's quote, describing the DVD. It amused me. Just a bit.

14.09.2002

"You can't argue with boobs like that."

During our first visit of the week to Kynance Cove we noticed that in one of the remotest parts of the beach a young couple were sunbathing and the lady happened to be topless. I expressed surprise at this and Alison said "Nice boobs though," which will no doubt cause some one or other to make comments about me having something to worry about. And then, when the subject came up again later (as boobs do), Alison made the comment that just had to be today's quote.

15.09.2003

"...and they can have raves in the dungeons..."

We went to St. Michael's Mount, and the "guide" was telling us about how a new family was moving into the residential house on the Mount, and that said family included three teenagers. She went on to add that since the Mount was isolated for 16 hours of the day, and there wasn't really much in the way of people around to disturb outside of the tourist season, they could do whatever they wanted without worrying about the noise.

16.09.2003

"I like your t-shirt..."

I was wearing the Male Lesbian t-shirt all day. As we arrived back (from another visit to Kynance Cove) another car was leaving the courtyard we had to park in each night. The twenty-something driver called out that she liked the t-shirt as she drove past. Given the t-shirt she was commenting on, and the fact that the passenger was another female of similar age, I jumped to the natural conclusion that any pervy heterosexual male would jump to without thinking.

17.09.2003

Patch, in Eden

No quote today, a picture instead. Yes, we went back to the Eden Project, and we took Patch (the Tatty Teddy you can see the back of in this picture, who also went with us two years ago when we went there).

18.09.2003

"Does it taste better wit' snot in it?"

I have no idea what 'it' was. We were sitting at one of a number of picnic tables at Land's End, and a noisy Northern family were sat behind me. All of a sudden the Mum said this to one of her kids. Needless to say I ended up crying with laughter.

19.09.2003

Evil Birds

Another picture in lieu of a decent quote for the day popping up. I cannot stress how important it is that people obey signs like this. Argh. Argh. Still, at least it happened to me, not Anne.

20.09.2003

"ARRRRRRRRRGH!"

We were packing stuff up this morning ready to come home and for whatever reason I didn't have shoes or socks on yet. While Alison was packing away food in the kitchen I thought it would be playful to kick her up the backside. What wasn't playful was for the corner of a wall to leap in the way at the last minute and catch my little toe. It fucking hurt, and it's still throbbing now, over 12 hours later. Ouch ouch ouch.







Previous EntryRandom EntryNext Entry