Follow The White Hair






Aaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrrgggggggghhhhhhhh! Picture the scene. Alison and I are sat outside a little tea-shop in gorgeous weather, waiting for our food and drink. Alison suddenly takes a profound interest in the side of my head. "I've just found a white hair," she says. "Not possible," I reply, firmly in denial. She then proceeds to pluck said hair from the side of my head and show it to me.

Then again, going white is more distinguished than going grey. My only worry is that given the part of my head she plucked it from I could end up with side-burns like Hal Jordan's. Not a pleasant thought.

The day started better than that though. I woke up to find out that I had been given Quool Cookies by Booberella. Why? Because I'm quool, obviously. People who still use "kewl", you are now so last geological era. "Quool" is the new "kewl". Because I say so. Also has something to do with me being so much of a sucker for a good caption competition, I'll even start doing my own captions unbidden. Quite how quool she found my answers to her survey is another matter.

Also, a parcel arrived for me. The two 12"s of Dave Gahan's Dirty Sticky Floors along with the DVD single of the same track. As an added bonus, I appear to have also been sent the promo cd free of charge. Now, I'm not a crazy collector for whom a promo cd is a must, but neither am I one to just throw such a gem away. "Heheh, quool," is more or less my reaction to this extra bit of merchandise. That being said, I am a crazy collector who likes to possess every mix under the sun once I deem a band or artist to be worth collecting. I have been mocked for this on a number of occasions, and on a scale of 1 to caring, put me down as an emphatic 0.

I was "fitted" for my wedding outfit this afternoon. The ominous responsibilities attached to being Best Man are starting to become apparent. Needless to say, Alison was with me for the fitting purely for the purpose of seeing them try to find a top hat that was big enough to fit me. And that was quite an amusing part of the whole business. The most amusing thing, however, was naturally less expected. As I went into the changing cubicle for the first time and pulled the curtain across to hide my body from the world, the curtain decided it would rather do other things. Namely, it decided it quite fancied the idea of teaming up with the curtain rail to break free of the constraints of woodwork and throw themselves onto to the floor. Other than that, the whole thing went more or less as expected. Seeing on paper that I am short and fat was no surprise. In six weeks time (if I'm counting right), I will be short, fat, and very dapper.

The other happening of note on our trip out was a visit to Waterstones. After the rather fantastic close that Revelation Space came to, I was unable to leave without buying the "sequel", Chasm City, and a companion book, Diamond Dogs, Turquoise Days. I probably would've bought Redemption Ark too, had it been out in regular paperback. DD, TD is a hardback but since it is on the small side and is basically two novellas in one volume it's a very cheap hardback. I was therefore quite happy to buy it. Me and books - always a wonderful combination.







Previous EntryRandom EntryNext Entry