Pink and the Lesbians...






So, last night Anne and I hit the town. Word on the grapevine (I nearly typed gropevine there, which, given the amount of innuendo that was sloshing about last night, is disturbingly close to being appropriate) was that there was only one place to be in Birmingham last night, and we were heading there. Yes, my friends, last night was the night of the much anticipated Pink gig.

The night began with a game of Hunt the Pizza Hut. After walking around in an almost complete circle, we successfully located where Pizza Hut used to be. Completing the circle lead us to where Pizza Hut was now, less than 100 yards from where we'd started. The unwritten rule that every Pizza Hut always has at least one attractive waitress working there seemed to fail in this branch, although somehow the fabric of the Universe remained intact regardless.

Then, on to the Birmingham Academy. It has to be one of the smallest venues I've ever been to - pretty much looks like an old cinema or theatre that's had all the seats ripped out and been turned into a club. And the clientele last night... well. I would estimate that around 80% of the audience were female, and of those around half of them were either gay or, shall we say, ambiguous. Lots of young teenage lesbian couples possibly holding hands in public for the first time... awwww. Needless to say that in the face of such provocation Anne and I became far more bitchy than we have ever been in Starbucks. So, I must apologise to the oddball threesome, the party of 11/12 year old girls, and in particular the Faith lookalike, all of whom were on the receiving end of snidey remarks from me last night. Not to their faces, obviously. I was wearing my MALE LESBIAN t-shirt, and I was doing my damnedest to prove that I deserved it. Having said that, Anne's comment about a particular couple of "In a few years time, the one on the left will deny everything" perhaps deserves the prize for bitchiest comment of the night. My best mate, ladies and gentlemen. Love her as I love her... *cackle*

So, you may be wondering, am I going to say anything about Pink, or am I just going to talk about the observations on lesbianism that I made last night? Well, dear reader, what the bloody hell do you think? :D

OK, OK. Pink came on at about 9. She went off at about 10.15. It was a short set, but this was understandable, given that a) she only has two albums to draw on, and b) she was near enough ignoring one of them. If you're new to Pink then realise this. Her first album is very R'n'B. By the end of the gig last night we were wondering why the fuck she'd ever recorded that album, since from the performance she gave she's so obviously a rocker at heart. It could be that she sold out to get her foot in the door. There could be any of a number of reasons, but it was just weird. She did everything off Missundaztood except for Gone To California and Catch 22. She did a medley of old songs that included Me and Bobby McGee by Kris Kristopherson and Take Another Little Piece of My Heart or whatever it's called by whoever it's by. And, she did What's Up?, the Four Non-Blondes song. Some of you might say "Huh?" to that, but others of you, who are more up on your Pink trivia will know that Linda Perry, lead singer of the aforementioned group, produced Missundaztood. Off her first album, Can't Take Me Home, she did There You Go. I was expecting Most Girls as well, but I'm not disappointed that she didn't do it. It was a fantastic set, spoiled only a little by the fact that it was so short. Needless to say, the crowd went absolutely wild when she did Just Like A Pill. Quite right too.

And in other news, my NaNoWriMo word count has gone through the 16,000 mark. I need to make some real progress this week, and I'm starting to get into the swing of it, but it's so easy to slip behind, as I've been finding for the past week.







Previous EntryRandom EntryNext Entry