Reasons To Be Cheerful...






The past two nights I've been to see Dave Gorman play at Warwick Arts Centre, a venue nestled in the bosom of Warwick University, which, by way of being contrary, is on the outskirts of Coventry. I went with R, and the reason we went to both nights was that there were two different shows. Last night was called Reasons To Be Cheerful, and was a comical deconstruction of the Ian Dury and the Blockheads song of the same name. It was hilarious, don't get me wrong, but the previous night was far better.

The theme for the first night was Better World, where he discusses ways of making the world a better place as submitted by the people of Britain to an anonymous PO Box. There are too many things to pick up on for me to describe the show in detail here, and to quote parts of it would spoil it for people who have yet to see the show on tour. Where possible, he tried out the ideas that were sent to him, with often hilarious results.

I finally got hold of my O2 handset on Friday. This was pretty much timely, as it was also the day Anne began her IFT. Given the potential for things to go a bit crazy out there, she was relying on the fact that I'd receive my phone in time to be able to provide (im)moral support and/or (in)appropriate advice where required. This does actually mean that I was without a phone for TWO WEEKS. Thank you O2, your customer service rivals ntl's.

NaNoWriMo continues. My word count passed through 29,000 yesterday, meaning that this evening I should hit the 30,000 mark. I then have to hit 40,000 on Saturday at the latest to stand a reasonable chance of hitting the 50,000 word landmark before the end of the month, being as I will be away for the last two days of the month, if not away from a computer then away from an internet connection, and an internet connection will be needed to register the fact that I achieved what I set out to do. Words written at Center Parcs on my Dad's laptop will unfortunately not count in the slightest as far as the NaNoWriMo website is concerned, as I will not be able to tell the website about them.

We nearly have lighting in the garage. On Sunday afternoon I was within an hour of finishing when I lost daylight. This was, to put it mildly, frustrating. However, on Sunday I also achieved a daily word count of over 2,500, so I wasn't upset about the lights for too long. Amongst the frantic writing that will take place this weekend, I will be finishing off the garage lighting and the kitchen/garage ring main. Basically, as I have said many times in this diary, I rock.







Previous EntryRandom EntryNext Entry