A Dolly Mixture of Feelings






Well, my parents have finally exchanged on their new house. I'm not sure what to make of this... I grew up in their old place and it's strange to think I probably won't see it again. All those memories... having said that, very few of my 'big firsts' actually happened there, which probably makes it all a little less difficult. I say probably won't see it again - I'm not planning on going back there, I don't think it would be a good idea for me. At least, I think I don't think it would be a good idea. It's entirely possible I'm avoiding the issue by taking the easier way out, but at the end of the day I think it's better to behave as if I have moved on, since I have. Strange that my parents moving on from the home I grew up in and me and Alison getting our first home should coincide so closely. Karma? Fate? Tro-clan? Superstitious nonsense? You decide.

Alison and I seem to have decided that if things do start moving quickly on the house we're gonna roll with it and move quickly, rather than hanging on here to make sure the overlap is minimal. When I was talking to my Mum earlier, before they had exchanged, she said that it was like 'walking through porridge' or something similar. Every move you take you seem to be held back. I get exactly what she means. It's like psychologically holding your breath, and not surprisingly we're now starting to go psychologically blue in the face.

Well, the good thing is that I've re-written the smut-fic that's been bugging me all week, and it seems to have turned out alright in the end. Need to get a few opinions on it before sending it out, as usual, but that will happen in due course. Right now Alison is sleeping off the rigours of 'life catching up', and Anne is nursing evil Flu-from-Hell, so my two star readers are unavailable. It can wait. At least, I think it can wait. The one thing I'm really shit at when it comes to this writing business is patience over getting feedback.

I'm gonna have to get HBL sorted out. It's a fortnight since I finished the final chapter and it's still in beta. This is down to my own choosing, I was the one who decided I wanted it beta-ed twice over, after all. And I'm not expressing any form of impatience with my beleagered (sp?) betas. It can wait... just not too long :D

Think I've run out of things to say. Except to Anne: Get well soon hun, and don't even think about trying to beta stuff before you're up to it, no matter how impatient I may sound. Unless of course you think the smutfic might help ;)







Previous EntryRandom EntryNext Entry