Piecemeal Update Effort






Bah, once again, fortnightly updates. This one's going to be a little less verbose and a little more like a list of bullet points, only without the bullets.

It's been a crazy topsy turvy couple of weeks. The Wednesday after my last update my dear lady jetted off to Spain for a few days on an expenses-paid educational trip.

The day she left I got as far as spraying the lacquer onto the car. It didn't look all that impressive afterwards.

While she was away I was mostly listless and 'don't know what to do with myself'ish, and decided to make an impromptu visit to Wales to see my parents at the weekend.

Went to a garden centre with my Mum and between us we spent 56 quid. 20 quid of that was the two 20kg bags of birdseed I bought for our feeders in the garden.

I also got a sedum, some surfinas and wall-mounted pots for them to go in, and some sage. My Mum donated a hollyhock to our garden from hers. Alison was very unsure about the whole 'wall-mounted pot' idea until she saw them in place. Now she's most taken with them.

Alison got back on Sunday night. There were cuddles.

It was a slow week at work, but I did get a few things that required me really getting my teeth into them - one of them involving lots of discoveries concerning things happening that shouldn't be happening, or rather shouldn't be allowed to happen.

On Wednesday we caught up on two weeks worth of Tru Calling. Last week's episode certainly made you sit up a take notice. Very tense, and with Frustrating Delay Of Key Revelation™ thrown in for good measure. I have a feeling I know what the key revelation will eventually be, and I look forward to seeing the effects it has on the series as a whole.

Friday we both headed to Wales, this time for more of a promptu visit. We had been invited to join my parents while they were entertaining the family of one of the members of my Dad's writing group. Ultimately it ended up that Bro and SiL were up there that weekend too.

The lunch was fun, although I did spend an awful lot of it sneezing. When you visit relatives who live out in the sticks it's only natural to expect a large amount of pollen to abound. Ack.

Saturday evening we went off to see Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban. Very good. Liked the change of feel to it. Liked the introduction of the 'tension' between Ron and Hermione. Liked Daniel Radcliffe being able to act.

Yesterday my mum and I visited the garden centre once more, this time with Alison joining us. Again we spent something in the region of 50 quid between us, although this time Mum accounted for most of it.

We also acquired lots and lots of plants from my Mum, seeing as she has shitloads of most excellent plants. Tonight there will be much planting.

Oh and we got another birdfeeder for the back, another seed feeder. Hee, the birds love us.

The only thing that spoiled the weekend was not the football, because on the scale of things I really couldn't care less, but the news about my cousin. This is the cousin whose CDs I've plugged in the past. He's had cancer twice before, the most recent in 2001ish. It would seem that he never really got rid of it, as it has returned in earnest, and the prognosis is really not good. I'm still attempting to assimilate this fact but mostly I'm just shellshocked. Understandable really that the footie doesn't much feature on my radar.

Nothing much else to report.

(LOL, just typoed report as repot, which is kinda amusing given the number of plants that have featured in the past fortnight).







Previous EntryRandom EntryNext Entry