Geekobots, Transform!






I forgot to mention yesterday that we saw American Pie: The Wedding on Saturday night. Very funny. Very, erm, what's the word..? cringeworthy also. A worthy ending to the trilogy or threesome or whatever you want to call it.

Well today I had Alison's car for the day as I was going to try and continue from where I'd left off and sort out the CD player.

But first, I decided to pop into work in the morning. I mean, the car was working and everything so there was no problem with taking it out and about.

Was there?

On the way in, I noticed that something was wrong with the instrument display. I couldn't work out what it was at first, but slowly the penny fell into place. I was doing 0mph, apparently. The engine was also stone cold, and there was no petrol. All this while bombing down the A46. THE SODDING INSTRUMENT PANEL WASN'T WORKING. Bombing down the A46 is not a good time to realise that the car you are driving is technically illegal.

So I tried to sort stuff out at work, tried to get hold of resourcing bod to ask about opportunities that were around, so that I could jinx all the promising sounding ones into being withdrawn (which is what seems to happen whenever I'm interested), but my heart wasn't really in it. I was all panicky about the car and what I'd inadvertently done to it.

I called in at a car electricals place in Daventry and had a chat to the guy. Turned out I'd picked a place that didn't do car audio stuff, but he said it sounded like a fuse had gone.

So when I got home I started poking around in the car's fuse box (why I didn't do so in Daventry is beyond me, wasn't thinking straight at the time). I did eventually find a blown fuse, and when I replaced it all the instruments started working properly again. EXCEPT... It wasn't the fuse marked 'audio'. It wasn't the fuse marked 'instruments'. It was the fuse marked 'door lamp'. WHAT THE FUCK?

Anyway. Further experimentation with the CD player lead to the conclusion that there were now only two wires that I didn't know what they did, and there were two wires unaccounted for in the diagram. It didn't take a great effort to match the fuckers up. And the CD player worked. For all of 10 seconds.

No idea now what is going on with it. I may have blown another fuse, but I checked the audio one and that was okay, so if I've blown something else fucks knows. The rest of the car works, including the instrument panel. So, erm, yeah. No idea.

As an antidote to my stress I indulged in some retail therapy and found two new additions to the household...

Jetfire

Robot in Disguise

and...

Overload

Robot in Disguise

Being Transformers Armada Transformers, they both come with their own Mini-Cons. Both have added sound effects. And Overload's sound effect is the proper "Transform" sound effect, triggered as you snap his head into place. Coolness. Am now trying not to bid for Transformers G1 Shockwave on ebay. Temptation will not get the better of me. Yet. Anyway, now I've got Overload and Jetfire it would be rude not to get the corresponding Optimus Prime toy in the near future because the three combine to form a Super Dude(TM). Next month, maybe.

Yeah, I'm a just a big geeky kid. But we all know that most of the people reading this are the right age to think Transformers are just the fucking coolest shit in the world.







Previous EntryRandom EntryNext Entry