God Bless America






I'm rather put out at this. It's mostly on a point of principle - it smacks of 1984 and over-reactionism. And although this article says that it doesn't apply to Britain, I've heard from other news sources that it will do later in the year. Meh. I've mentioned from time to time in here how Alison and I are working our way through Babylon 5 on DVD, and now that we're on Season 3, with Earth becoming a police state (through playing on public fears as a means to introduce more and more draconian methods of control), it is quite scary just how many parallels can be drawn with what seems to be going on in the US at the moment.

I must apologise to my stateside friends who would want to see me whenever the next time I cross the Atlantic but at the moment my feelings are that I do not want to subject myself to that kind of scrutiny. The fact that I have nothing to hide is irrelevant. I can't see myself travelling to the US at the moment.

But enough of that.

With Chris Moyles and Sara Cox swapping slots on Radio 1, one of the taglines you keep hearing on there is "Wake up with Moyles and go home with Coxy". Now, if I went home with Sara Cox and then woke up with Chris Moyles, I'd be very worried about what I'd been drinking the night before. Beer goggles wouldn't even begin to cover it. FEARED.

GTA Vice City continues to eat up spare time, as does doing jigsaws. Bit of a contrast there. GTAVC: violent crime; Winnie the Pooh jigsaws: warm and fuzzy. Still, variety is the spice of life, as they say. [Insert witticism of your choice here about who 'they' might be.]

Tempting discoveries of the past few days:

  • There is a Simple Minds DVD that I just must have at some point. It has, well, everything on it.
  • Crash Nitro Kart for the XBox is �16.99 in the Play sale.
When hunting down the cheapest place to get the Simple Minds DVD from online I found Depeche Mode's The Videos: 86>98+ for �9.99. I didn't include this on the list above because in this case I was unable to resist temptation and just bought it there and then. It arrived Saturday morning. When we watched the "extra" videos the other night Alison was most pleased at the presence of Mr Gore's mop in the Condemnation (Paris Mix) video. Simple things, eh?

I'm exhausted today, it would appear I need much more in the way of sleep. Bah.

Oh, and I've nearly finished the scribblings that will be incorporated to create "version 3" of Pepper Rats. Expect to get them finished at lunchtime, woo. After that, all I need is a sypnosis (bah!) and I'm ready to start sending it around. I think that rates another 'FEARED'. FEARED. There.







Previous EntryRandom EntryNext Entry