DSW! DSW!






Well, what a couple of days it's been. Not being content with trying to listen to all of the CDs from Daisy, yesterday I bought the new Buffy soundtrack CD, Radio Sunnydale, and also the limited edition version of Hits! The Very Best Of Erasure, because the limited ed comes with a bonus extra disc, and that's how I justify it to myself. So now I have 8 different CDs I'm trying to share attention amongst.

When I was a kid, I used to think that airliners were cool shit. I had books about them and stuff. I knew the difference between a 747 and a 707 (there were still 707s about back then), and the difference between a DC10 and a Tristar, and all sorts of other geeky stuff. Turns out one of the guys at work I share an office with used to get similarly enthused. So between us we had a good natter this morning about The End of Concorde. Sure, it was a terrible from economical and environmental viewpoints, but it was Concorde. And it was cool. In a horribly noisy (on the outside) and decadent (on the inside) sense.

There was other news I wanted to comment on, but I've forgotten it.

So yeah, my trip to see my brother was cool. And quool. And kewl. And any other alternative spelling you can come up with. One of the coolest things about it, in a nostalgic kinda way, was what he was wearing when I turned up. It was one of the t-shirts he acquired while at college. It was from a band he saw one night, Baby Chaos I think they were called. It's a very garish t-shirt. It's bright red. And it has a Superman S on it in a slightly sickly green, and then in the same green it says "Superpowered. So Fuck You." To you it may sound crass and gratuitously crude, but hey, that's what makes it so cool.

Most of the time was spent showering each other with insults and abuse concerning performances at PS2 games. I also got in a cheap dig at the PS2 itself, by taking the 80s-retro "My Computer is better than Your Computer" angle and suggesting that the XBox would be the console of choice for serious gamers. Or, as E would say, "Warning! Warning! Dick Size War! Dick Size War! Activate Do-Not-Give-A-Toss Shields!" or something.

If you're starting to think that this entry is disjointed and incoherent, I think you'd be right.

I'm currently installing Office 2000 on an old P100. With only 16MB. Someone's gonna have fun with NaNo. Heh.

Speaking of NaNo, I went to Coventry today, to do some research for my novel. I wanted to visit the old Cathedral and get a feel for it, since one of the first things the main protaganist does is visit it. There are links to the history of World War 2 in the book, so I've been researching it a fair bit lately. In particular the Battle of Britain and the bombing of Coventry are relevant, so these fact finding missions of mine have been fairly somber affairs. I'm not entirely sure how I'm going to handle writing about it. We'll have to see, won't we?







Previous EntryRandom EntryNext Entry