"Double-Whammy Shocker" Shocker!






Yesterday was full of shocking events. I would've put 'shocking revelations', but that wouldn't have been entirely accurate.

The first was for the first time I can remember to find myself in full agreement with the majority of the tabloids. Most had headlines along the lines of "Who the fuck do they think they are?". The Sun certainly didn't, and I can't remember what The Express said. They were of course talking about the England football players (who were threatening to withdraw from an international fixture this weekend because one of them had been banned for failing to take a drug test - he forgot, apparently). It's not often that the subjects of a news story are on the receiving end of me yelling at my car radio, usually it's the fuckers that have made it a story in the first place. But yes, I found myself entirely agreeing with the sentiment that the footballers were a bunch of arrogant twats with an exceptionally misguided set of priorities.

With some editorial assistance from Dunk I crafted a lightbulb joke (that will probably only mean anything to British and Irish readers) inspired by the catalyst for such a historic event.

Q: How many England football players does it take to change a lightbulb?
A: Just one, but if he forgets to change it the others are sure to find a match to strike.

I thought it was funny anyway.

The second shock of the day was a call from a Nice Telephone Lady who worked for SECP. She was very apologetic and assured me that the whole sorry bill situation had been straightened out, and that I would receive confirmation as such in writing. Which is good, because it's not that I have No Trust, Like, but I won't actually believe it until I see it in writing. We shall see.

OK, so maybe two shocks isn't a whole day full of shocks, but given the average number of shocks per day (which is probably somewhere between 0.01 and 0.05) I'd say that relatively speaking it's pretty damn full.

Today my Matrix Reloaded DVD arrived. Yay! This morning I presented Alison with the choice between watching that this evening and going to see Finding Nemo. Personally, I'm happy to do either. Which reminds me I should phone her and find out if she's decided. Because tickets will need to be purchased if we are going out.

I'm slowly plodding through KOTOR the second time around. I got to a bit on the Buffy game that's going to take a lot of patience to work through and, frankly, I don't have the patience at the moment to try it. I'm trying to make my KOTOR game different, trying to do things a little differently, but for the most part walking the dark path doesn't particularly appeal. I'm trying not to be so unremittingly light-side this time though. I'd like to be a tougher, edgier character who hovers around the grey.

Finally, I have a plot for NaNoWriMo this year, assuming I do decide to take the plunge again. Surprisingly, it's not the sequel to Pepper Rats. I had been planning to try and do a sequel based on the scattered notes I wrote six months or so ago where I put together a list of plot elements that I'd throw in and then see what happened. No, I've had a new idea, and either Alison or my Mum, I forget who, suggested I use this new idea for my NanoNovel this year. So that's what I'm going to do. I'm 90% ready to sign up again, but don't want to take the plunge just yet. Maybe tomorrow's mooted meet-up with Anne will crystalise my resolve, or at the very least resolve my crystals. Heh. I explained the plot to Alison last night and she thinks it's a good'un.

Of course, if I'm going to do that, it would be wise to finish the third draft of Pepper Rats beforehand. So that's just what I'm gonna go and work on right now.







Previous EntryRandom EntryNext Entry