Yay! Excitement!






It's nice when a little bit of excitement comes into your life.

To explain, I spoke to my brother earlier on today. He was (at that point) about two thirds of the way through a twelve hour shift, having done only one job by that point and that was four hours previously. Since today he was on a car (Focus Turbo Diesel, moves like 'a fucking rocket' apparently) on his own instead of on an ambulance with a crewmate, he'd had minimal human contact all day and was bored stupid.

We had a bit of a chat before I left work.

Then he rang while Alison and I were eating tea just now. I told him we were eating and said I'd ring him back. When we'd finished eating and Alison had gone out, I did indeed ring him back. Only he was on the way to a job. Naturally I only spoke to him for the split second necessary to ascertain this, since using phone while driving is very very naughty. But (and this is the exciting bit) I heard the woo-woos!

For some reason hearing the sirens on a paramedic car down the phone has got me giggling with excitement like a little kid. I guess one of the things that makes it cool is it's something that means my brother is off Making A Difference(TM).

Coolness.

Slightly less exciting, but still a very cool discovery of the day, is this. I have to have it. I absolutely have to. I've told myself I'm going to try and wait for Xmas on the grounds that a) I can't afford to buy every game I want that's out between now and then, and b) if I did buy every game I want that's out between now and then there'd be precious little left that I wanted for Xmas. It remains to be seen how much my willpower will hold up. Another motivator for not buying it is that it's out at the beginning of November, and that if I buy it then it's likely to make a mockery of this year's attempt at NaNoWriMo, assuming that I do decide to do it. Which I think I will. Anne and I were discussing it this weekend and I think we were both fairly positive about doing it all again, but I wouldn't think concrete decisions will be made until mid-October.

Whilst on the subject of writing, I finished Chapter One (of the First Book of the Trilogy that's going to take me Ten Years to write - or FBOTTTGTTMTYTW for short) last night. It's a bit rough around the edges to my mind, but I'm also interested to see what other people think of it.

Where Is The Love? by Blackeyed Peas sounds like Caught In The Middle by A1. What disturbs me about this is that for the past week (until I looked it up on the internet today) I was sure that Caught In The Middle was by Natalie Imbruglia, not A1. My musical ignorance is suddenly alarming.

And now I have to go do my Mixmania mix...







Previous EntryRandom EntryNext Entry