Bravo Oscar Romeo Echo Delta






I didn't get as far as going into the details of why yesterday was shitty in my last entry, I was too caught up in getting enthusiastic about the weekend.

Well, yesterday I started a new assignment at work. It wasn't an assignment I was too enthusiastic about, as it was with the account I used to work for. Now, I don't have anything against going back and doing work for them, but in some ways it seems too soon, and it's also not doing the sort of work I want to do. To top it all off, the project they've actually brought me in to work on hasn't been signed off yet, so I'm just stuck doing support work (when I'm not deliberately skiving in a lame kind of silent protest), which is most definitely not what I was brought in for.

However, I did have one good thing to show for the day yesterday. One of my old colleagues from when I worked on the account before went into hospital on Friday to have a pacemaker fitted. I'd been quite keen to get a card for him sorted out and so I made that my raison d'�tre du jour. By mid-afternoon when I'd caught everyone and got them to sign and make a donation I was really pleased. The collection had totally over 70 quid. Another colleague is seeing him tonight and will hopefully get a chance to ask his wife what sort of thing we should get him. Then I'll probably go and see him next week.

The Well Of Lost Plots is fantastic so far. I've only read 5 chapters (been very tired since the weekend, and every time I do something as relaxing as reading I just want to curl up and nod off), but it's shaping up nicely. I'm starting to get images of Ekkle and Kibba and Grit and maybe even Floo wandering around in the Well. I'd say more but I'd get clobbered for skirting to close to spoiler territory. And I still wish I'd thought of it. I had a thought yesterday related to the Jasper Fforde stuff and stuff I've written in the past. I'd like to think the mice in my Bonsai Stories would be quite at home in the Great Library, but maybe that's a bit presumptuous of me.

And to close, simply for Dunk's benefit, since he's been bugging me to post them, are my contributions to The Felch Game.

  • Romancing The Felch
  • Desperately Felching Susan
  • The Fabulous Felcher Boys
  • Indiana Jones and the Temple of Felch
  • The Importance Of Being Felched
  • Crimson Felch
Apologies to those who aren't childish late-20s/early-30s blokes (ie, everyone else), particularly for the last one which definitely rates a EW!







Previous EntryRandom EntryNext Entry