Please Do Not Adjust Your Set






One of the benefits you get from the fact that I lost my entry last night is that I'll put a better effort into it this morning. And I have a little bit more to talk about.

I'm sulking. There's no better way to describe it. Last thing I did before bed last night was replicate my work email. I got a new email with my appraisal for my Derbyshire assignment on it. I was not happy with the comments made on it. The guy who appraised me, who just happens to be THC, said in the email that we should arrange to meet if I wanted to discuss it. Frankly, I don't see the point. I'm not going to change my appraisal score by doing so, and I don't feel that THC is the sort of person to listen to my side of things. There's also the point that if I arranged a meeting with him then beforehand I'd get all stressed about it and spend most of the time between now and then worrying about it. At the moment I've got a signing exam and a Best Man's Speech to worry about sorting without having to get stressed about things that I feel will be futile. It was also pretty dismissive of THC to just say 'arrange a meeting if you want to discuss it'. My understanding of the appraisal process is that it's meant to be two-way, and should always involve a meeting. Bah. Meh. And possibly Grrrr too.

Yesterday I rented Brute Force for the XBox, on Dunk's recommendation. Since Dunk has two XBoxes (or will have) instead of the usual, sensible single XBox, his recommendations are not to be taken lightly. And yes, I am perfectly entitled to take the piss out of him for having two XBoxes even though I was encouraging him to buy the second one yesterday. Since he's calling me a "quent" so often, I feel justified in trying to live up to his expectations. LOL.

Last night I was playing DOA:XBV as Helena. Turns out that the bikini she starts off with is called "Panache". Once I found this out, every time I saw it in her inventory, and saw the word panache on my screen, I felt compelled to say "panache" in a Sean Connery voice, which in turn cracked me up laughing. Blame it on this and the original article in Empire to which it refers.

While I've been writing this I've both discussed the appraisal with M (formerly known as Boss M, but since she ain't a boss of me anymore...) and she advised me to go back to THC and arrange a discussion. I've also gone back and re-read the appraisal and decided that it wasn't quite so harsh after all. So again, in a dilemma. At the end of the day I guess I'm a little upset about it but don't see the point in putting myself through more stress over it all.

Oh, and there's this:

mutster101
Magic Number16
JobDespot
PersonalityVicarious
TemperamentCheck My Pulse
SexualStraight
Likely To WinTime Off For Good Behaviour
Me - In A WordDevious
Colour
Brought to you by MemeJack

Make of that what you will. And, obviously, put your own names in and then post the results in your own diaries on account of it being dead funny, or at the very least, mildly amusing.

I currently have one foot on the bench, as it were. My current assignment is winding down, and my new one does not start until Monday, so while I wait for the dribs and drabs of feedback that I need on the current assignment before I can finish it, I'm basically being paid to do fuck all, ie, "On The Bench". I'm using it as an opportunity to sort out all those things in life that I keep not quite getting round to. And as an opportunity to XBox.

Speaking of the XBox (again), I finally read OXM (Official XBox Magazine) last night. This now means that I want the following games: Conker: Live And Uncut (just for the revamp of CBFD on it, I've no intention of getting XBox Live set up just yet), Grabbed By The Ghoulies (from Rare, the same outfit that did Conker), Sudeki, and possibly also Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic. Oh, and apparently GTA: Vice City is gonna be out on the XBox by the end of the year. Better start saving then.







Previous EntryRandom EntryNext Entry