...but you can't pick your family's friends






The SBF (Sister's Boyfriend) is starting to seriously piss me off.

The main thing is I'm sick of him taking liberties and showing little respect for us. For starters there's the XBox thing I mentioned yesterday. Then (as the most minor of all his infractions) last night when I was driving the four of us to meet up with Alison's parents for a meal he started fucking about with the car radio without saying anything - you know, like asking if I minded. At said meal he started smoking at the table without asking if any of us minded, ignoring the hints I'd dropped that suggested that I did in fact mind. Finally when we got back he picked up my camera and started taking pictures with it, again without saying anything.

I'm well aware that all of these are little things and that people who I don't have a problem with in the first place would probably get away doing any of them (apart from perhaps the smoking) but more often than not it is the little things that build up and end up bugging the fuck out of you.

He also doesn't treat the sister very well.

He's hardly worked at all since he left Uni three years ago, not because he can't find a job, but because he can't find the right job. In the meantime he's been quite content to live off the sister, spend her money, sulk when she won't buy him stuff, etc. They haven't been on a proper holiday in all this time because they haven't been able to afford it.

This pisses Alison off, it pisses her parents off, and I'm sure it pisses the sister off. It's the sort of thing that was okay in the short term, and somewhere along the line it became long term but exactly when that happened is debatable and hence no one realised that something needed to be said until it was too late.

The irony of it is that in the past it was the sister who I always found it difficult to get on with, and now, even without overwhelming feelings of sympathy for her situation, she really is being quite the opposite.

Still, this evening Alison and I get our lives and our house back.

And then tomorrow morning I'm off up North again. Really would've been nice to get some chill time at some point. Bah.







Previous EntryRandom EntryNext Entry