So Much For "At Peace"






I was in MVC buying Martin Gore's Counterfeit2 CD, and the shop assistant who was serving got arsey. I realise that I was probably as at fault as he was, but whatever happened to the customer always being right? In MVC they have a big long counter with several tills on. When I went to the counter with my lovely new CD there was someone else waiting but no one behind the counters. I figured I'd wait by another till. Then MVC bloke emerges from the back of the shop, turns out he was already serving the bint who was already at the counter. Fair enough. I figure I'll wait where I am, regardless. Then some other bloke turns up and waits behind the bint.

After he's finished serving the bint, of course, he starts serving the other bloke.

"Excuse me!" I pipe up.

"There's a queue," he sneers. He seems to have missed the fact that there wasn't until the other guy made it into a queue.

Sadly I missed that fact too. Instead I made a comment about there being no one behind the counter.

He pulled a face and otherwise ignored me.

At which point I decided to take my custom elsewhere. I know to a certain extent I was being just as arsey as him, but that didn't make me any less pissed off. I was fucking livid. It put me in mind of a similar incident with a Royal Mail employee a year or two ago. There the thing I wish I'd said afterwards was "If I talked to a customer like that at work I'd get sacked."

In the end I paid 2 quid more for the Martin Gore CD, but at least I retained some semblance of pride.

I shouldn't let things get to me so much, I'm well aware of this. But it seems that whether things are good or bad at the moment, I'm emotionally raw regardless. Last night when I realised that Anne was the happiest I'd ever seen her I was close to tears, because I was so happy for her. After walking out of MVC I was close to tears, because I was so angry. And last night, when I realised that I had left the newest addition to our family of bears behind at the Hotel I was close to tears, because I am a sap.

I remember a Rob Newman skit when he talks about having one skin too few - being thin-skinned instead of thick-skinned. I think that's me right now. My skin must be almost transparent, it feels so thin. And it's great at the good moments, but fucking shite at the bad ones.

"Gnnnnnnnnnnrrrrgh" sums it up nicely.







Previous EntryRandom EntryNext Entry