Easter Bunnies...






Well, it's been quite a weekend. The rest of the weekend that is. No, all of it. The half I've already recounted also falls under the "quite a weekend" banner.

For various reasons I didn't progress the shelving until Sunday morning. In the meantime on Saturday night we watched Reign of Fire. I really enjoyed it. I had very little idea what to expect, which is often the best way to go into a film, or anything else. Apart from a few weaknesses the storyline was quite clever, particularly when you took a step back and thought about it for a while. It was very dark, and had a high bodycount, but ultimately it was enjoyable. The helicopter pilot was quite cute too, but that's a very shallow comment to make so pretend I didn't say it.

Sunday morning I still didn't seem to be able to sleep in by much. I got on with the shelves as soon as it was sociable to start drilling holes in the wall and soon had all the necessary brackets done. Then came the most awkward bit of the entire process. I had to "trim" the corner shelves so they would fit the corners of the walls. Naturally right angles didn't figure at all in the equation. Somehow I got it right first time. Wonders will never cease, eh? Then there was sanding and painting - primer, not top coat - and a bit of drilling if I remember correctly.

Then the Scourge of Urban Virgins turned up with Jess (which is a cruel alias to give her, but hey, if the proverb is true it's a kindness really) in tow. This was quite a turn-up for the books, since Anne's not given to mixing her social circles. There was quite a bit of chatter throughout the evening, but no boardgames. Boardgames turned out to be a no-no, which was a shame because I'm sure that fun would have been had. I'm not entirely sure at whose expense it would've been - possibly mine as I was rushed to hospital to have gaming pieces removed from rather uncomfortable places.

However, alcohol was imbibed. Even by me, as it happens, although that was by accident. I picked up Anne's glass by mistake and took a large mouthful of white wine rather than drinking my own Am� (mostly 'cause my glass was empty). And I swallowed. Ho ho. Alison also came up with some nasty Czech stuff which for reasons of my own and because suzuki is already taken I will refer to as sipstrassi. Although if I can just get Alison to say the real name of it again, I'll be a happy man. Jess made a big show of not drinking her sipstrassi. I'm not sure that was intentional or indeed desired, but after attention had been drawn to the fact that she wasn't touching it, it became a big show. I think her eventual verdict that she was right to have been wary of the stuff.

And the chocolates... Anne brought us a Heroes Easter Egg and Jess brought us a box of Celebrations chocolates. The Celebrations chocolates held one particular point of interest. It turned out that if you carefully bite off the outer shell at one end of a Maltesers "Teaser" it looks like, well... there's really no polite way to put this... like a chocolate cunt.

Eventually I think we all retired at about 2am.

Surprisingly enough, I slept in.

If you've ever wondered what a cross between a rabbit caught in the headlights and the cat that got the cream would look like, I think I know. I don't think I could describe it though, so don't bother asking. Out of respect for the other cats, that's all I'll say on the matter.

I don't think I've been so lazy over getting up that it's gone midday by the time everyone's had breakfast in a long time. I suggested that we head for Starbucks. This is not unusual, I know. It did take us a while to head off though, as we had to wait for Anne to finish her coffee. This is leaving for Starbucks as opposed to leaving Starbucks, I should add. Confused? Good.

I had a coffee in Starbucks. That was what last night's entry was all about. After having adverse reactions to coffee not once, but twice in New York, I decided it was time to find out if these adverse reactions were contributed to by the fact I was quite ill at the time, or if they were just plain old adverse reactions to coffee. Turns out they were just plain old adverse reactions to coffee. You'll probably have guessed that from what I wrote last night though.

I didn't buy anything in Waterstones, but a book did catch my eye and I think I'll probably have to buy it at some point in the future. Possibly wait for the paperback, however. And no, I can't remember what it was called. Go figure. On the subject of books, Alison is finally reading Lost In A Good Book, which means that as soon as I've finished the "Salty Old Rice Tome"(TM), I'll be lost in Lost In A Good Book. Then I just have to wait to spend my other book vouchers from my birthday on the third one. Or something.

I didn't buy anything in Sanity either, but that's often for the best.

Anne and Jess left at about 3, as I was doing my utmost to fight off the coffee side-effects. I threw myself into carrying on with the shelves in an attempt to ignore the various chemical reactions that were taking place inside my body. Paint fumes may not have been the best idea but if I had any adverse reactions to them I didn't notice - still too busy with the coffee.

When I nipped out to take Reign of Fire back to Blockbuster, I also swung by Sainsburys and got Hope, the new Warchild album. It's not quite as good as 1Love, but is still muchos coolos. The biggest surprise on it is that the song by a bloke from Blue is actually pretty good - certainly a cut above Blue's usual fare. I'm undecided about Avril's cover of Knockin' on Heaven's Door, I'll get back to you on that one.

Now I'm getting fed up of how long this is taking me to write, so I won't bother going on about how much today at work dragged on, or how I've been fighting a sugar low all day, or even how once again Firefly delivered on an exceptionally cool episode. All I will say is that we now have well painted and exceptionally cool shelves.

Apart from the bit I missed painting.







Previous EntryRandom EntryNext Entry