Fuckwittage, Brass Monkey Style






English readers will be well aware of the problems that the sudden cold spell has caused. My own story pales into comparison against those of people stuck on the A14 overnight, or even that of my brother taking 8 hours to get home (near Stevenage) from visiting his old college (near Heathrow). Mine is more a tale of fuckwittage than angst. In Warwick, it has just been bitterly cold. There was snow around yesterday, but not much of it. As a result my windscreen was rather dirty. So when I got in my car and started driving, I did the whole windscreen washer thing. As it turned out, I'd overlooked the temperature of the windscreen. I did say bitterly cold, right? In addition to the air being bitterly cold, my windscreen was also bitterly cold. And the thing about water is that when it gets cold, it freezes, particularly when we're talking about small quantities of water, like, say, to pick a random example, a thin layer of water smeared across a windscreen by windscreen wipers. For a split second, I had a very clean windscreen. Then I had a very clean windscreen covered in ice. All bow down before me, because I am a fuckwit. Doh! didn't cover it. You stupid fucking twat was also inadequate. Any offers on what does cover it are welcome.

I seem to be recovering from the emotional shellshock of yesterday and the night before now. Anne's analysis of the situation pretty much hit the nail on the head, and also brought Venn Diagrams back into the picture, which is always good. You can't go wrong with Venn Diagrams. Unless of course you're really shit at Maths. But having laid my soul bare on here yesterday in an attempt to work things out in my head, I don't see that there's anything more to be said in public.

So, on to some lighter news. I think I've mentioned a number of times that I wrote a smutty fic a few days ago. I got feedback fairly promptly, which always happens when you write shameless dirt, but one piece in particular took me by surprise. It was from someone who wanted to nominate me for a fanfic award. Now, while I tend to frown upon the cliquiness that tends to surround most fic awards, this was from someone who hadn't sent me feedback before, but who made it apparent that they had read a fair amount of my stuff. Looking at the nominations also suggested that the fic nominated was from across the board, rather than a small group of authors. The fact that it was from out of the blue only made it nicer. So, basically, I've accepted the nomination. So far it's not appeared on the awards website, but it should do soon. Voting details to follow, obviously ;-)

So tonight I'll be watching Buffy 7.12 for the second time, this time in the company of my good lady. It was possibly the weakest episode for a while, but given the gourmet fare we've become used to this season this really isn't much of a put down. It was still good, feeding my diet of Special K while at the same time leaving me hungry for more. Could that sound any worse? Difficult but possible, I'm sure. And it's getting really hard to talk about these eps without letting spoilers slip, so I think it'd be best if I just gave it a rest.

And one more thing. I don't think any of my regular readers have asked me this yet, but in order to head off any such enquiries, no, I don't think the AFT will be off in the event of the US going to War. I may have to be sedated for the duration of the flight in such an eventuality, but it's not going to lead to Alison's conference being called off, so it's not going to lead to the AFT being called off either. This is the first and last time I will discuss this, unless obviously there is a dramatic change, so please, no more questions.







Previous EntryRandom EntryNext Entry