Give Me Back My Decade!!!






There is something very wrong with the music industry at the moment. What is this obsession with European Dance groups and covering 80s songs? I have no problems with covers, but Euro Dance covers of songs that it some cases I attach very dear memories to is something I find it difficult to stomach. The trend that started with the butchering of Bryan Adams' Heaven has been followed up by another DJ Sammy travesty, Boys of Summer, and now apparently some fly-by-night outfit known as Soda Club have covered Belinda Carlisle's Heaven is a Place on Earth.

When I was fifteen I went to Australia for three weeks. The whole experience was very special, in a once -in-lifetime kinda way, and for various reasons the song Heaven is a Place on Earth is something I will always associate with it. Hearing it turned into just another piece of soundalike Eurotrash is more than I can bear. Melodrama perhaps, but you get my point.

But anyway, this weekend has seen Anne and Sham descend on my humble home. Yes my friends, two (count 'em) lesbians stayed here last night. There is so so much more I could say about this, and yet since one of them is currently sat behind me, and the other I will be seeing again tomorrow evening, and both of them wanting to remain friends with, my lips are sealed. Sorry. What I can mention is the distracting girl in Starbuck's this afternoon, the snigger-filled text conversations that Anne and I kept having in order to dispell any rumours that we might have got lives, and continual intrusion of a certain new character in Buffy into the conversation and/or thoughts of the three of us. Oh, and for some reason Sham brought no polo-necks with her. But that's just an aside that means little. Kinda.

And there has been the Mini-Mizer. This has been used with much amusement to create lego versions of myself, Alison, the rest of my family, and, of course, since they were here, Anne and Sham. As soon as I have a fair representation of the main cast of this diary expect me to post a full gallery. Well, maybe.

There is so much more to tell and yet I'm so tired right now that I either can't remember it all or can't trust myself to filter that which I can and that which I shouldn't tell. I can't be 100% sure on where the line should be drawn, or even if it needs to be at all. So don't assume that there's something to tell, because a lot of it was just tired incoherence on the parts of all of us.

Tomorrow I have the day off, partly because Sham is here, and partly because tomorrow is the Day Of Broadband(TM). Yes, tomorrow I get broadband installed. Suddenly, everything seems better.







Previous EntryRandom EntryNext Entry