How Soon Is Now?






OK, so now I'm retyping this from scratch. Fucking stupid explorer crashes. I type it up in a text editor because a) I'm at work and I don't want to be obvious about doing this by typing it straight into a web window, and b) I knew it would be a long entry and hence it would be safest to do here.

Anyway, what was I saying. Oh yes, it's been a strange week. I've been hating my job with a passion. Well, no, that's not entirely true. It's truer to say that I've been apathy personified, and that the realisation of just how little I cared about my job has been more what I've been hating. I know that's a fine line, but stick with me, it's an important distinction (as most fine lines are). I've been working on my CV a little this week, which isn't much but is at least a start towards finding something else. The only problem is I'm not sure how I'd respond to the upheaval of the change. I'm far too set in my ways.

I had a blood pressure check on Monday. When it was checked as part of my "new patient medical" before Christmas it was up a little (145/89), and they decided they wanted to check it again to see if that was an anomalous reading. It would seem that it wasn't. Either that or the first reading being taken straight after I'd been working until 1am in the morning the night before and the second being taken the day after a long and tiring house-warming weekend meant that I've had two anomalous readings in a row. Anyway, they want to keep an eye on it, have said that it's not cause for worry at the moment but that it needs monitoring, so I have to go back for another check in a couple of weeks. I'm making damn sure I'm well rested for that one, I can tell you.

The other thing that happened when I had my blood pressure checked was that I mentioned to the nurse about the heartburny pains I'd had in my chest on and off for some time. She asked me a few questions and then decided that I should see the doctor, and as luck would have it there was an appointment slot free a short time later. He gave me an examination, asked all the pertinent questions, and decided that he was as sure as he could be that it was heartburn. He also gave me some meds to help settle it down. The only thing was, these meds have a rather alarming list of potential side-effects. I realise that they're legally obliged to list any side-effect that has been observed in the past that they have reason to believe is linked, but all the same, I hate things like that. Perhaps most disturbing is the fact that one of the rare side-effects is increased breast sensitivity or breast enlargement in men. Naturally this has caused much amusement amongst my female peers (ie, Alison and Anne), and Alison has even offered to take me for a proper bra fitting. Ho. Ho. Ho.

On Tuesday I was pretty down and pretty freaked at the prospect of the more serious potential side-effects (this does not include breast enlargement, I might add), but I seem to be settling into the new meds ok so far.

You'll be pleased to know that I've now completed the reconstruction of the Lego Republic Gunship. It took a while, largely because building a set straight out of the box is one thing, but doing so when it's been dismantled into a box along with several other sets is quite another. The actual construction is a relatively quick task, it's just a real sod finding all the damn bits. I have also attempted to build a model of one of the four-legged assault droids from the battle at the end of Episode 2, but the design I worked on last night turned out to be too bulky. I'll have to come up with something else.

I've also been working on a deplorable piece of smutfic, for the first time in a while. Watching the Buffy episode Showtime with Anne on Sunday lead to all manner of pervy comments and thoughts which made the penning of slash inevitable, it was just a question of who would get inspired first. The characters involved are something of a spoiler for UK viewers, and for Americans who aren't up to date, so I'll not name them. However, the fic (now completed, 27.1.2003), should you be depraved enough to want to read it, is here and if you move your cursor over the link it will display the names of the characters involved in the status bar of your browser down in the bottom right. Some of you will be shocked and disgusted to find out that it is less graphic than my previous efforts, so far at least. However, it has only just got to the really good bit so things could go downhill fast.

I'm going to leave the entry here for now, since I'm writing it at work when I should really be doing some more boring instead. More may follow later.







Previous EntryRandom EntryNext Entry