For Fuck's Sake






Regular readers will know that the media is one of my pet hates, more specifically the British Press. Today, the news on the radio attracted my ire. There was an item on national radio today to say that the wife of the policeman who died earlier in the week in a raid on suspected terrorists went to visit the spot where her husband was killed. Now, other than the lack of helpful punctuation, you should be able to spot something wrong with that sentence.

Why was it news? Is there no such thing as privacy or respect any more? Why should it be in our interests to know that? Why, for once, can't we leave people to deal with their grief in peace, rather than forcing it into the centre of the public eye? I really, really, really hate that sort of thing.

And a friend got made redundant today. I don't work with her, she's elsewhere in the country. Regardless, it really sucks. My own job seems to have stopped pissing me off, but I still hate it. Everyday it seems more and more like a career dead-end. But at least I've got it. With the state of the industry at the moment, I should be happy with that.

Pepper Rats chapter 13 it is, then.







Previous EntryRandom EntryNext Entry