Music Televison






So, I just watched a load of videos on MTV Hits. It's a misleading name for a channel, you'd think it always showed stuff that was established as hits, rather than stuff that had pretty much only just been released or only just charted. But hey, that's not what this entry is about.

I saw three videos in particular, all of which I was motivated to watch out of perviness.

One of them (though not the first, I'm not covering these in the order in which I saw them) was Christina Aguilera's Dirrty video. I've seen the video before, and I've also commented about it on here a bit, so I won't say much. However, despite the fact that she's trying to look tough as nails in the video, watch her eyes. She's just a little lamb! LOL. And also, she looks like a complete tit in the bare-knuckle boxing bit.

Then there was Pink, Family Portrait. Very clever video. Captured the mood and essence of the song very well, and almost made me cry. I am such a wuss.

Then there was the video I have the most to say about, both from a pervy point of view and otherwise. The song was All The Things She Said, by T.A.T.U. I must say that my dread glands went into overdrive when I saw the title, as I immediately feared it was a trashy eurocover of the Simple Minds song of the same name. However, it wasn't.

OK, so if you haven't seen the video (and if you have, tough, I'm summarising it anyway), it starts with a view of a prison fence. There are people lined up against the fence, watching events on the other side. It's raining. Two girls on the other side of the fence, in something approximating to school uniform. Yes, white blouses in the rain. Yes, mucho perviness. And then the girls start making out. Mucho is no longer adequate. Mondo perviness? Do I get to say that without sounding tragic? Figured not. The people on the other side of the fence are looking on in stunned disapproval.

Now, I'm sure in the way I've described it I've failed to not make it obvious what the little twist is at the end. The two girls finish making out and walk away into the distance. It's the disapprovers who are caught inside the metaphorical prison of their own narrowmindedness. I was rather impressed that the video could at the same time be both perv material and a very positive depiction. That's one for the political correctness freaks to work out.

Political correctness has nothing to do with being positive, in case you hadn't noticed. It may be about using non-negative terms to describe people, but the same labelling is still taking place. One word is as good as another when describing someone. Meaning is everything. You get that point when you learn sign language. Changing the word you use doesn't change what they are, nor does it change the way you portray someone or treat them. Only changing your attitude does that. The clich� here is actions speak louder than words. I'm pretty sure I know who most of my regular readers are, so I'm kinda aware that I'm mostly preaching to the converted here, but that doesn't make stating it any less valid. Go figure.







Previous EntryRandom EntryNext Entry