Gone to the Dogs (ho ho)






Firstly, a big hello to any new readers who have been suckered into visiting by my funky banner. Thank you for stopping by, help yourself to a drink, and there's a smoking area at the back for anyone who needs it.

So, this week. I don't think I've done a proper entry since Sunday. Monday was... well, I can't remember much about Monday, so it must've been good.

Tuesday was funky. Well, the evening was funky. As a belated Thank-you-and/or-congratulations type celebration of the fact that our company achieved SEI/CMM Level 3 at the beginning of the year, we went on a works trip to Milton Keynes dog track - Meal, drinks, etc.

We were on Tote betting inside, although after a few races the more seasoned gamblers went outside and used the bookies. I'm not a seasoned gambler. I stayed inside, filled in my little race slips, and slowly threw away the 20quid that I'd sensibly put aside beforehand. I'd also made up my mind beforehand that I wasn't going to gamble away my winnings as well, which meant that I didn't finish entirely penniless. I had a couple of wins, one of them �1.10 from a �1 bet, which was laughable, but serves me right for betting on the favourite; and the other more substantial win of �7.40 from a �2 bet. Very few people actually finished up. It was a fun night, even to the point that I didn't mind being taxi driver (had a few bad experiences of carting drunken colleagues around in the past).

Today has been fairly indifferent. I started to get my head around a project that I've been supposed to have been spec'ing for the past month or so, which was nice, but other than that it was pretty much just more of the same. I think I'm starting to get complacent because there's been no major fuckwittage for the past two weeks, which is probably a bad omen. Somewhere out there it's all building up, and it'll hit us all in a nasty rush like a sudden recovery from constipation.

Alison is back tomorrow (just spent half an hour talking to her, which was really cool seeing as it was the first proper conversation we'd had since she left). This has meant that tonight has been a half-hearted effort to tidy the house. Tomorrow will be a manic effort to tidy the house, particularly if she ends up heading back early. I can hover the entire house and clean the kitchen in 30 minutes, sure...







Previous EntryRandom EntryNext Entry