You Sad Bastard! You Sad Bastard!






I am currently quite possibly the saddest and most shameful creature on the planet. Why? Read on.

Someone sent a link round on one of the many email lists I'm on. The link was http://www.thisdayinmusic.com/cont/choose.html. Try it, it's fun. You put in your date of birth and it can tell you what was number 1 in the UK and US charts on the day you were born.

Now, bad enough was the revelation that Without You by Nilsson was Number 1 in the US on the day I was born. I hate that song, let me tell you. I loathe it with a feeling that was deeply ingrained by a traumatic episode that I will probably never reveal on here. That was bad enough, and I could have done without the humiliation that followed.

Having told my colleagues about this site, I started banging their dates of birth in. And dates of birth for their siblings. The date 19th August 1984 came up. Now, for any of a number of reasons, the summer of 1984 is one I remember very well. So I thought, hang on, I can probably get this. A few rapid cognitive processes threw out Careless Whisper (by George Michael, for the 'Well, Duh!'s amongst you). A click on the link to find out revealed that I was indeed right.

I am such a sad bastard.







Previous EntryRandom EntryNext Entry