Crunchy Numbers






Today I took the Billing data well and truly by the horns and started whipping it into shape. And towards the end of the day, it actually felt like I was winning. It seems that things may actually be in less of a state than we thought, although the intense scrutiny I'm placing everything under is leading to some understanding of the problems that have occurred in the past. Part of the clean up for this once June's invoice is produced is going to be the creation of a number of error reports to highlight gaps in the data.

In some ways, this is all dull as fuck, but for some reason I'm actually enjoying it. I think I'm relieved that I'm getting to be the one to clear up my prior mistakes, but there's more to it than that. I guess it's more that I'm getting the space I need to do this properly, without half of the account management breathing down my neck demanding updates every other keypress. I'm not sure what's waiting for me once the Billing is sorted. I'd like to get it and the related databases properly documented so I can leave them in a state that other people can use once I finally get to move on, something which has once again moved higher up my list...

The annual slap in the face in the form of the salary review came around this week. Now, I know the IT industry is screwed at the moment, but given that I feel underpaid as it is, a paltry 2% isn't going to make me want to stick around. The people where I work are great, and I'd hate to leave them all behind, but the company's attitude to its employees really is deplorable.







Previous EntryRandom EntryNext Entry