Disposable Hero of Hypocrisy






One of the things that always bugs me about the World Cup and the European Championships is the displays of rampant xenophobia that are put on by football fans... and yet I find myself delighted that Argentina are out, with a total lack of sympathy for them. I'm even amused that some of them were crying at the end.

What does this say about me? Am I just being patriotic - given the history between our two countries that could be understandable; or as I suspect is the case, am I just as capable of displaying rampant xenophobia as card carrying members of the BNP? I guess deep down we're all bigotted to some degree or other and to think otherwise is to be in denial.

So, in the end, am I a hypocrite, or am I just honest enough to admit to my own faults? It's a toughie, isn't it?







Previous EntryRandom EntryNext Entry