SHOCK! HORROR!






Yup, that's right, your eyes don't deceive you. I'm updating less than a fortnight after my last update.

This weekend was rather active, so I felt it warranted a write-up.

The week beforehand was less active in some ways, and in others it was bloody hectic. I bought a new stereo for Calvin, mere hours after finally getting the correct radio code for the one he came installed with. But, since the stereo he came with didn't play CDs and mp3s, and the one I bought did, I felt the purchase was justified. The cost does however mean that I have nothing free to spend on myself until the end of August.

Work was hella hectic from Wednesday morning until Friday lunchtime. As everything calmed down a bit on Friday afternoon I felt myself steadily wilting, until I decided to excuse myself an hour early and then went home and crashed out for a couple of hours.

Then we come to Saturday. Arrangements had been made. I was meeting Ms. Hardy at Merry Hell to say Happy Birthday to her (for last Wednesday) and to give her her presents.

We sat (in Starbucks, natch) and chatted for a long time. Then we zipped around as many different computer games stores as were available in as short a time as possible, thereby rushing ourselves of our feet. The lure of Waterstones didn't seem too strong - we left after a mere five minutes or so.

Unfortunately Alison didn't make the trip across with me. She was on the busy side on Saturday, having a Tai Chi thing in the morning, and a gig in the evening that went on until late. Originally the plan had been for Anne and Jess to come over to us, but that had proved to be unviable also.

Anne and I headed to the Frankie and Benny's just outside MH, where we were joined by Jess. Conversation became a little awkward at this point, not because of anyone involved, but because the place was so fucking noisy. I think the problem was that to begin with the background music was a little too foreground, so everyone present was speaking up over the music, and then having to speak up over each other. And Jess got her dessert. She was very insistent about this, after previous experiences where time had not allowed.

The gym was much quieter and more of a sociable experience. The fact that I got to drive them both to the gym in Calvin and hence show him off was just an added bonus.

The only thing about the gym was all the kids running around. They weren't that much of a nuisance, to be honest, they were just noticeable. I dunno if that makes sense to anyone, but if it doesn't I don't much care. It was a little worrying when a load of them started staring at the TV screen curiously when the piped through Smash Hits channel was showing the video to Gay Bar by Electric Six. That video is worrying at the best of times.

In all, it was an enjoyable but tiring day. Didn't help that Sunday was also a bit hectic then.

One of Alison's bands had an open air concert. This would be the band that she is 'Orchestra Manager' of, and that I am now on the committee for. It was also their first gig since I'd joined the committee, so I had a bit more involvement than usual.

Before the gig started, it had been agreed 'If it rains, that's it'. A number of players were looking for the gig to get washed out, since this was their 3rd or 4th one of the weekend. Unluckily for them, but luckily for the people who had turned up to watch or who just happened to be in the park at the time, the weather held.

It was a good gig. Any gig where my lady gets a solo is a good gig in my book, though.

When it was over Alison and I pretty much flaked out. Then Alison took me out for dinner with her earnings from the previous night's gig, and we watched a Firefly ep. Then early night.

And now work seems to have eased off again, and I'm bored again.

C'est la vie.







Previous EntryRandom EntryNext Entry