Playing the Faith Game






It was bound to happen sooner or later. MDE (My Dear Employers) have decided to put pressure on me to accept work assignments a little further afield than I am prepared to travel, since I have been On The Bench(TM) for some time.

In some ways this is fair enough. I'm more or less getting a free ride at the moment and I cannot expect this to last. However, there is a new contract based very close to Warwick and I don't think it's entirely unreasonable that I hold out for opportunities to start coming up there. Because it's Sod's Law that if I take anything temporary elsewhere I'll miss out on all the assignments there. And I cannot do the distance working thing in the long-term. It's really not practical. Watch this space for further developments.

I've just noticed an amusing coincidence on a news web page. There is a headline saying that JK Rowling has 'joined the half-billionaire club'. Now, I wasn't aware that there was a half-billionaire club, but that's by the by. Just below that headline is another, saying that a UK Bank has announced a pre-tax loss of just over half a billion pounds. People really should check things like that. The proximity of the headlines, I mean, not the possibility of a link between the two. Because obviously there isn't a link.

It's been a week of Flash games for me. Solving the Mystery of Time and Space, and then trying to Grow my own eco-system.

We're off on holiday next week. Alison and I will be scooting up to the Lake District on tomorrow, just for the week. It's my birthday on Monday and we normally take that week off and go somewhere.

Things have gotten more complicated on my birthday present though. I've gotten advice from one of my Dad's friends on what sort of things to look for, etc. and it turns out the Sony system I had my eye on was not a good option. So I will be going to Richer Sounds later on today and having a wee chat to them about what I can get for my money. It may be something that's a few months old, but if it's got all the trimmings I'm after that's really not an issue.

While this diary still looks the same as it has done for the past six or seven months or whatever, I've given the LJ an overhaul, going for a bit of a newspaper (not a snoozepaper) look. I will also be re-jigging the links from here to include a permanent link to the LJ. Bet you can't wait, eh?

Oh yes! Possibly the most important thing to mention (since I can't go on about the fantastic Angel episode I saw earlier in the week) is that yesterday on Chaos Bleeds I got onto a level where you play as Faith. Ooooooh yeah. Faith, under my control. Gotta love it, it's like a wet dream come true. Or should that be cum true. EW, sorry, bad image. Needless to say, the gal kicks ass. More so than Buffy, I thought. AND she got to throw sticks of dynamite around. Always fun.

And while I might post to the LJ a bit more before we leave tomorrow, I think on here this will be it for the week. Not that you'll notice, since I rarely post more often than that anyway.

Adieu.







Previous EntryRandom EntryNext Entry