After The Lord Mayor's Show






After the joy of turning a stressful working weekend into an early finish up North, things are rapidly deteriorating into the disgruntled apathy that was the norm before I started the assignment.

My next assignment was to be in Daventry, where I always used to work (and am still based, regardless of where my assignments take me), but there have been two complications. Firstly, the new assignment isn't due to start until July, meaning that in Daventry they want to keep me occupied until then with support and incident work. Fuck that for a game of soldiers.

Secondly, the platform that the development is meant to be done on has suddenly turned out to be unsupported. This is a bit of a shock to all involved and it remains to be seen if the client actually wants to go ahead with the project in the first place.

The long and short of this is that I feel like I'm in some form of career limbo. I've lost all motivation to work again, and for the time being I'm not accepting the new assignment. I want something else, preferably soon.

The visit to Wales on Wednesday was nice, apart from a little incident on the way home. Driving along 'rural roads' down from my parents house to Monmouth (where I pick up the A40) it was raining, and I oversteered on a tight corner. The car started skidding, and I panicked. This didn't help, because it meant that instead of getting control of the skid, I lost control of the car. Luckily there was nothing else around, and somehow I managed to avoid going into the banks on either side of the road. Needless to say, that left me feeling pretty rattled and ended up making the rest of the journey exhaustingly difficult.

On Wednesday evening Alison and I had planned to have a gaming night. This did indeed go ahead, but we only got as far as playing DOA3 and DOAXBV - Carcassonne ended up being dropped because it was getting late-ish and both of us wanted a reasonably early night. At DOA3 Alison made an outstanding display of wiping the floor with me, whupping my ass 12 matches to 6. However, at DOAXBV I totally owned her, winning every match (a total of 6, I think). I am going to have to get over my crush on Ayane though, I think.

In the past two days I've started emailing and IMing Trinabird, who from now on I will always refer to as Trinny, because apparently no one else has ever called her this. As documented here, this had an adverse effect on her car maintenance efforts, but as far as I'm concerned that's her fault, not mine :-p During these conversations we've discussed such searching matters as sexuality, monogamy and polyamory, and who's sexier out of Christina Aguilera and Britney Spears.

Tomorrow I have my British Sign Language Level 2 mock exam. I'm not looking forward to this, not so much because I don't feel ready for it (even though I don't), but more because I just want to have an easy-going weekend when I can relax and forget about everything. This ain't gonna happen, not this weekend. And next weekend is my brother's stag do, which I've been trying to organise in-between getting thoroughly caught up in work and then trying to recover from work. Oh yeah, and DOAXBVing.







Previous EntryRandom EntryNext Entry