Grrr, Argh.






First KaZaA goes and bombs out my latest Angel download with only 50MB left to go out of 450MB - and by bombed out I mean failed download so you have to restart it, not just interrupted - and then the motherfucker goes and crashes and takes the rest of Windows with it, right while I was in the middle of writing a diary entry. No, actually, I wasn't in the middle, I was nearly done.

Grrr, Arrgh indeed.

So let's recap on what I lost.

The Firefly pilot rocked. Damn shame that the show got canned. Rumours of its potential resurrection abound, but I'll believe it when it happens, frankly. It is of course possible that I won't like the remaining episodes, I have only seen one after all, but this is Joss Whedon we're talking about.

We've just watched Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets on DVD. When I saw the film at the cinema it turns out I was a little bit disappointed - I think the first film had given me unmeetable expectations, I guess you could call that the Phantom Menace Effect(TM). However, this time around, when I knew what to expect, I enjoyed it far more. It does capture the sense of the books in the same way as the first film after all.

And today I did more DIYing. In our porch there's a little cupboard which has the gas and electricity meters in, and for some reason this cupboard has been lacking in the floor department. There's just a drop of about two feet below the ground floor into a pile of rubble. Today, by virtue of a few carefully cut lumps of wood, a slightly more haphazardly cut piece of MDF, and the immutable fact that I am so skill, our meter cupboard gained a floor.

Meanwhile Alison covered a headboard. Not the headboard that we're using at the moment, but our old headboard that we used before we got the one we use now.

If I do manage to wangle my way onto this assignment I stand to benefit from it pretty quickly. Travel expenses. As the place the assignment is at is not my base location, I stand to make a fair amount on the old Private Mileage Rate(TM). I can almost see the XBox in front of me already.

Yes. If I end up not getting onto this placement, I'm going to be very pissed off. If I do end up getting onto it, one of the closest friends I have where I'm working now is going to be very pissed off.

Everything just seems so up in the air at the moment.

Grrr, Argh indeed.







Previous EntryRandom EntryNext Entry