Praise Be! A Decent 80s Cover!






So, my first full week back at work since the AFT draws to a close. I'd like to say it's been fun, but it really hasn't. For the past two days myself and Colleague H have been chasing a bug in a particular program that is proving elusive to say the least. Now, I like a good challenge, but there comes a point when the lack of leads becomes less of a challenge and more of an annoyance. Yesterday I reached the point when I wanted to shout "Cunt" at the top of my voice to vent my ire. That would be one of the more imaginative ways of handing in one's resignation.

I'm less fucked off about the work not being done while I was away. That particular crisis point has washed over me, but has left me with one certainty. I have to find a new job. There has to be something better than this. A colleague expressing shock at the salary of a job you're applying for because she expects you to be on more than that in the first place is a nice compliment, but it really doesn't help the self-esteem with regards this job.

I've been quite staggered to discover lately that there's another decent 80s cover doing the rounds apart from the t.A.T.u. cover of How Soon Is Now?. The cover in question is Richard X and Liberty X's version of Chaka Khan's Ain't Nobody. For some reason, the cover is called Being Nobody. I downloaded both the original and the cover this week, and made the unprecedented step of deciding I liked the cover version better. It's more than just your standard Karaoke cover version, and it's nothing like the "let's take a classic 80s song and mangle it into Europap" efforts that we've been flooded with lately.

Amusingly this morning on the radio they were talking about what would happen in the Singles chart this week and said "We'll be watching careful to see if t.A.T.u. manage to beat off Christina Aguilera". Heh, that's something I'd watch carefully too. They did admit that it was deliberately worded to sound dodgy, but still, they broadcast it.

While on the subject of t.A.T.u., I overheard someone in the supermarket singing the t.A.T.u. song yesterday. My immediate reaction to hearing an 8 year old girl singing "Hey there looking at me, tell me what do you see" was to smirk and hope she had broadminded parents, but that's really not the point, is it? The point is that hopefully that's one less potential bigot in the offing. I can't say I'm entirely convinced of that, but we can hope that the controversy I've complained about before isn't the be all and end all, and that there is some good being done here too.

Not convinced all that makes sense, but go figure.

And time marches on...







Previous EntryRandom EntryNext Entry