Mark of Respect?






I guess everyone is doing their own September 11th entries. That in itself is one of the things I want to talk about. I'm gonna try and keep it brief because if I don't I'll end up getting carried away and will doubtless upset people, and that's not what I'm about. I wanna be outspoken, but not at other people's expense.

Recently I've made my feelings on the media's behaviour around tragic events clear. Once again I find myself angered by their behaviour - it seems that TV, Radio, Newspapers, Online media... everyone wants to milk the September 11th anniversary for all it's worth. The excuse is that to ignore it would show a lack of respect. This is possibly true, but there is a wide chasm between ignoring and milking for all it's worth. As Anne said in her diary earlier, there are doubtless people close to the tragedy who are at the point where they need to let it go and move on... but the media sees the need to keep the events of a year ago right at the centre of attention. I have no problem with showing respect at the appropriate time, but I object to having had this shoved down my throat for the past week or so. And yes, now I'm shoving it down your throat, dear reader. I can't vent my feelings on the way yet another tragedy has been exploited otherwise.

And speaking of exploitation... this whole thing about going to War with Iraq... you can't tell me its a coincidence that they just happen to be building up to it around the anniversary of 9-11. Seems to me the anniversary is being used as free propaganda... and that's the biggest lack of respect of the lot. Politicians, eh? Screw 'em.







Previous EntryRandom EntryNext Entry