Spiderman. Kirsten Dunst. Nipples.






Well, I decided to follow Anne's lead and use a blatant hit grabber as a title, even though this diary isn't open for public scrutiny and hence can't really grab hits. There's a level of irony in there somewhere, if you hunt around hard enough.

It's my brother's 27th birthday today. This makes me feel very old. I can remember his first birthday, you know. Yes, I am such an old git. Anyway, Happy Birthday Stu. Take it easy, hope you have a great time.

Feeling a bit introspective at the moment. A few of the conversations I've had lately have lead me to think about the way I've conducted friendships in recent years. I think I've tended to forge these strong friendships that then burn out because I (or possibly in one case the other person) manage to overstep the mark and expect too much. I know I have one or two issues, and I do my best to deal with them myself, but I can get a bit too dependent on other people for help. And this can put the other people and/or my friendships with them under strain.

Why am I yabbering on about this? Because I think I'm starting to put one of my closest friendships under strain, and I want to avoid burning it out as has happened in the past. I don't exactly know how I'm going to do this. I don't want to feel I'm treading carefully all the time, because that just adds to the strain. I think I just need to make more of an effort to focus on my own life rather than other peoples', and give myself a bit more space... because I don't get much of it. I don't tend to make many allowances for myself needing it.

I dunno. I'm not entirely sure I'm making a lot of sense here. I guess I'm just talking the issue through out loud.







Previous EntryRandom EntryNext Entry