Odd.






Odd seems to sum up this evening. I've had odd little physical aches and pains, and I seem to be doing what I can only describe as mood spins. Because my moods aren't swinging, they're spinning.

I'm working on a smutfic at the moment, and I keep hitting not quite being in the mood for it. Bloke? Smut? Not in the mood? And I've hit a confidence thing with it. On account of being a guy writing lesbian smut... and since the last time I wrote anything like that, things have changed. The person I consider my best friend (other than Alison) is a lesbian and no matter how many times she reassures me that I'm making a good enough job of it, I'm painfully aware of how much more of an expert on the subject matter she is than me... I should stop thinking about it and just write it. It was a humbling experience... I've just got to make sure it doesn't lead to actual doubt of my writing ability. Sorry, sounding all melodramatic... wasn't meant like that.

The houseyness is progressing... the Surveyor goes in tomorrow and we should get his report early next week... after that it's anyone's guess if it'll be a quick or slow process. No chain, and we're first time buyers, but that doesn't necessarily mean that we'll be able to gee the solicitors into high gear. We could be moving at the beginning of August, or at the end of it. It could be even later than that, we've no idea right now. We don't quite want to start packing yet, but we're going to have to at some point... it's hard to know how to do it all when we're not 100% sure it's all going to go ahead properly.

And as for work... I'm not entirely sure at the moment. Got into a conversation with a couple of people where they kept commenting on how I was wasted where I am, that I should be paid more and stuff... very kind of them, but didn't really make me feel any better about being where I was. I want for things to improve there, because I really like the people I'm working with, but it's not going to happen. It's hard to see how the place is going to last much longer... events may yet surprise people, but how often does that happen?







Previous EntryRandom EntryNext Entry