Ungothly Bitchiness...






OK so this is gonna be more of a playful entry. Bitchiness may creep in here and there, but that's unavoidable when you're telling amusing stories at other people's expense.

The main activity today was to walk into Leamington, taking a rather roundabout route which went through fields of rape. Overgrown fields of rape, I might add. At times the crops reached shoulder-height on me. I know I'm a shortarse, but all the same. At all times you could see that the path was there, but other than that it was a take-it-as-you-find-it kinda thing.

Already I am in fear of the google hits this entry is gonna get. And I'm really not saying that for a cheap laugh.

While actually in Leamington we graced two establishments with our presence, and it'll come as no surprise to anyone which establishments those were. Firstly, Starbucks provided us with drinks, and me with an ever-popular Sunrise Muffin. Yes, the scope for early-morning pussy jokes at this point is unbelievable.

Secondly, we paid a visit to Waterstones. Given that I discovered that there was a new Greg Bear out, and a sequel to Darwin's Radio at that, and a new Star Wars book not only set in the Clone Wars but with Mace Windu as lead character too, I think it shows exceptional restraint that I bought only three books, and that of those only one was for myself. Got Shadow Puppets by Orson Scott Card as a Father's Day present, got Elegance by Kathleen Tessaro for Alison, and Snare by Katherine Kerr for myself. I think I've done exceptionally well to put off buying that for over three months, don't you? It was thicker and heavier than either of the hardbooks I wanted and it was cheaper, so I saw it as a quick and dirty get-out clause.

"Hey man, you promised you were gonna be, like, bitchy?"

I'm getting to that. As we headed out of Leamington we saw a girl who was quite obviously going for the goth look. She was wearing all black. Her hair was dyed that slightly blue-tinted black that actually looks blacker than real black, just in case you'd missed the fact that it was in fact black that was going on here. In Goth circles, they'd be proud of her. Apart from two small points that destroyed the entire image. Firstly, she had far too healthy a complexion to look really Goth. Her cheeks had colour, for fuck's sake. There wasn't the slightest hint of a pallid anaemic look about her. Her second infraction was the bag she was carrying. Not only was it bright pink, it was bright pink with the Powerpuff Girls on it. Marilyn Manson will be spinning in whatever it is he sleeps in every night.

And since I mentioned it yesterday, at this point I'll also recount the story of the kid in Sainsburys, even though I've already told everyone most of the punchline. Go figure. We were queueing up at the checkout, and suddenly the woman behind us in the queue lets out a little shriek and flinches forward quite noticeably. She turns around and sees a little kid of about 5 or 6 standing there. Seems he pinched her bum. LOL. His parents were very apologetic - "what must you think of us?" - that kind of thing, and Alison was very amused. I wasn't so much, since I pretty much missed the whole thing and am relying on her recounting of events to relay in here.

And back to today. I don't think there's much else to tell about the walk, apart from the realisation of how much countryside and footpaths there are hidden away within Leamington and Warwick as well as the surrounding area. Oh, and while walking along the Grand Union Canal we made a bit of a discovery. There's a canal-boat hire place within easy walking distance of our house. How fucking cool is that? I sense a cheeky weekend away on a canal boat at some point in the future.

Our viewing of Babylon 5 DVDs reached the end of Season One tonight. Can still remember watching Chrysalis for the first time, along with the necessary "Oh fuck" thoughts that accompanied it. Still, nowhere near the reaction to the Season Three cliffhanger, of course. Apologies to everyone reading this apart from R, ie, those who have no idea what I'm going on about. Yes Dunk, I know you watched it too, but I'm guessing you won't remember enough to know exactly what I'm on about :-p Be starting the Season Two DVDs soon I guess. And ordering Season Three ASAP, natch.

And for those of you who have been kept awake at night for the past week by this question, this is what type of retro-gal Alison is...

playful
You are the playful pin-up!
Do you know how to be serious?

What Type Of Retro Gal Are You?
brought to you by Quizilla







Previous EntryRandom EntryNext Entry